Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Alyzza

This ought to be a short post, there really isn’t much to say about it. My mom’s place is full of old stuff and after trying a pair of glasses on my daughter I just had to shoot her with them. Said and done, my mom managed to find a dress, which of course was way too big but fit the look we were going for, and a feathery hat completed the transformation. My five-year old had now become an old lady.

Lighting was my standard two LP160s in an octabox to camera right. I did a test frame with the polaroid back for my Hasselblad and it looked awesome. Then I switched to Kodak Portra 400 and did two more frames. In the first one my subject blinked but the next one was good. You can see that the focus isn’t perfect but I don’t think it detracts too much from the final result.

This is an extremely simple portrait that anyone with a camera can pull off. You don’t even need flash if you have a window in the right place. What makes it work is that all the pieces that makes up the photo matches in a rather nice way. The wardrobe fits with the location – I’m lucky to be able to shoot in a house where every room is photogenic – the model is rockin’ her outfit and the medium of choice (film) contributes to the old style of the whole thing.

That last point is a bit interesting. You always hear that it’s not about the camera but the photographer. I agree, but you also have to remember that the look and feel of your photos are hugely impacted by the medium you choose for capturing them. Even someone who doesn’t know anything about photography will instantly spot the difference between a photo coming from an iphone and one coming from a large format camera. Especially if the photos are viewed in a proper way (hint: it’s not on your phone’s screen). For me it also comes down to what’s fun to shoot with, and I’m having a lot of fun in the analog world.

/Rifqi

2 Responses to “From 5 to 60”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

