Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Alyzza

The weather this summer was more or less abysmal, so I didn’t get as much shooting done as I had hoped. The shots in this post were taken on one of the very few days where the sun was out and just before the air started getting chillier again. Personally I’m not entirely happy with them but part of that displeasure probably stems from the fact that everything went wrong during the shoot.

Light was provided by my regular octabox with two LP160s. It’s a great light modifier and one of the things that makes it great is that it gives you a big, soft light source. unfortunately that also means it’s a big target on a windy day, a day not unlike the one for this shoot. I placed my lightstand on the other side of the fence to camera left, so when it inadvertently fell down I had to climb over the fence to get it back up. Now, that’s not something I would normally complain too much about, however, I know my subject and I know she has about the same patience and attention span as a squirrel high on caffeine. In other words: every second wasted is a shot missed.

Second problem: my subject was in her posing mood. How is that bad? I hear you ask. Well, if you have to ask then you’ve obviously never seen a five-year old pose before. She’ll make a contortion artist jealous. Her grandmother was standing behind me and trying to make her smile but that didn’t really help either, it just meant that I didn’t get any shots of the subject looking in the camera.

Third problem: The lightstand fell again and this time I heard something crack. Turned out it was the radio trigger that broke the fall and got broken in the fall. Fortunately it was only the part that you twist to secure the trigger to a hotsoe that got damaged, so everything was still functioning as it should.

Alyzza

Fourth problem: we had to move to let a car pass. Take a look at the place we’re standing, does that look like a heavily trafficked road to you? That question was rhetorical; it isn’t. In fact, most days there won’t be a single car driving there. On this day however, a car just had to come just as we were shooting and just as I was getting ready to throw all my gear in the lake (which is located around 50 meters to camera right). So I had to move the subject and camera bag with bits of pieces hanging out from it as I hastily collected everything.

At this point I was more than ready to throw in the towel, so that’s what I did. I may be remembering this wrong but I seem to recall that either a flash or radio trigger also ran out of battery at some point. I always carry spares but I lose more of that precious time when I have to switch.

What can we learn from this little story? Beats me, I’ll probably be just as annoyed next time it happens. Maybe my youngest daughter will turn out to be more patient and make things easier for me, though I’m not holding my breath for that one.

I’m hoping to finnish a couple rolls of film pretty soon, so stay tuned and I might have some analog posts in a few weeks.

/Rifqi

2 Responses to “When things go wrong”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

