Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Alyzza

This should be short since these photos are very simple. Lighting was the usual two LP160s in an octabox to camera left. One slight change from the regular procedure was that I had some CTO gel on the flashes to warm the light just a tad. The reason for that was to see if I would like the colours better that way, since I don’t have as much control of the colour balance when I’m shooting analog. Speaking of which, this was shot with a Hasselblad 500 c/m on Kodak Portra 400. I can’t really tell one way or the other yet, perhaps I should do a shoot both with and without the gel.

I only shot two frames for this shoot and the purpose was mostly to test the combo of the 150mm lens and an extension tube for getting closer to the subject. Though another reason for only shooting two frames was, as usual, the lack of cooperation from my model. Anyway, as you can see the result is some very shallow DOF.

Alyzza

In this instance I would say that the DOF is even a bit too shallow. The top shot would probably have worked better as a profile shot or head on to get the eyes in the same focal plane. My intention for this pose was that she would look into the camera while her head was still angled away as it is here. Unfortunately I couldn’t quite get her to do that for me.

The photos are ok considering it was only two frames to test something for future reference. I’m still in love with the subtleties of film as well, there’s just a different emotion to it compared to when I shoot digital.

I think that’s all I have to say about this, so I’ll see you again next time.

/Rifqi

4 Responses to “A shallow combo”

  1. Joan Ollé (@joanolleb)

    I really dig the tonality you got in those shots 🙂 But there’s one thing I’m curious about. In older posts you say you got yourself a 21mm extension tube to use with the 80mm lens. In this case did you use the 21mm tube with the 150mm lens? or was with another extension tube?

    Reply
    • Rifqi

      Thanks, glad you like them. I used an 11mm extension tube for these shots. 21mm would probably be too much with the 150mm and I was lucky enough to find the 11mm for a decent price. I wouldn’t mind something even shorter but the prices go up a lot once you get to 8mm, and I wouldn’t use it enough to justify that price.

      Reply
      • Joan Ollé (@joanolleb)

        Thanks for the reply 🙂

        yeah the 8 and 16mm tubes prices are sky high as are the most “needed” and used. I’m thinking about the 21mm for the 150mm to get really head/face tight shots.

      • Rifqi

        I think you can get away with the 21mm if you’re aiming for really tight shots. I just tried framing my wife with it and if I zoomed out to infinity I could get the head and a bit of shoulders in there.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

