Alyzza

And now for something completely different, except it’s the same, but different. These photos were taken at the same time as the ones in the previous post, which should be fairly obvious. The difference is that these were taken with my Hasselblad and I just got the scans back the other day. Other specs that might be of interest is that they were shot with a 150mm lens on Kodak Portra 400.

For those of you wanting a comparison between film and digital, here you go:

Alyzza

Alyzza

That’s about as close as I can get to a direct comparison, though of course the digital one isn’t edited to match the colours of its analog counterpart. I’m not going to start a debate about why film or digital is better than the other. All I know is that I’m rather enamoured by film at the moment, even though it can be frustrating at times.

I wish I had some more interesting stuff to say but there really isn’t much since I covered the setup and everything in the previous post. Perhaps something could be said about the shot below though.

Alyzza

You’ll notice that there’s a bit of a ghost image in this one. That’s because the flash didn’t trigger the first time, so I had to do a double exposure. I can’t remember if I forgot to connect the radio trigger, forgot to turn it on or if it was something else. I usually forget something when I’m shooting with my film camera; most commonly it’s the darkslide that prevents me from taking a picture after I’m finally done focusing. I’m getting better at remembering but considering how little film I shoot it’s still going to take quite some time before it’s second nature.

Despite som frustrations I’m pretty happy with these photos. I really like that I don’t have to do much editing with my analog photos, the colours are usually nice the way they are, though shots in artificial light can need a bit of adjusting to get the white balance right.

I’m hoping to shoot some more stuff outside soon, at least it seems like the weather is finally coming around. Until then I have one more post ready, so stay tuned for that.

/Rifqi

