Pregnant

Christmas eve offered a grey, wet and dirty landscape about as photogenic as a damp sock. In the evening, big fat snowflakes started falling and the temperature dropped. On Christmas day we woke up to a winter dreamscape with a glowing sun in the sky. It was an opportunity I wasn’t going to pass up.

The location in question was at my mom’s, a place where I’ve gotten several of my absolute best photos. While my wife was getting herself ready (you know how it is) I started scouting a location in the forest. I could have gone with the lake but I wasn’t sure the light would be from a good direction there and snow usually looks better on trees. I followed a trail into the forest until it opened up onto a field and the light was just magical. I raced back to let my wife know where to go, got my gear and headed back to set up.

Pregnant

You can probably already guess that said setup was my go-to two LP160s in an octabox. I’ve brought it with me every time we’ve visited mom and every time I’ve come away with something new for my portfolio.

The shoot itself was straight forward, a couple of test shots to check the light and then we started shooting. I worked a lot with angling the camera to get some nice flare from the sun because I really like what it adds to the pictures. It was a bit tricky shooting into the sun like this though, since I didn’t really see much except for a silhouette of my subject. That combined with my wife’s face being frozen meant that her expression wasn’t the best in a lot of the frames. Still, a few came out decent enough and I think the end result is rather good.

Pregnant

The second problem with this shoot was our impatient daughter who kept wandering into the frame and complaining that she wanted to go home. I had hoped to get some nice winter portraits of her as well but there was no way that was going to happen once I was done with my wife. I often wish I could spend more time on my shoots, not necessarily to get more shots but to think things through more and really make sure I get the best shots I can get. Maybe when our daughter get older and asks me to shoot her or if I can shoot my wife alone, though I guess that will take even longer now. On the bright side I’ll soon have another model to annoy.

Pregnant

That’s all for today. In the next post we’ll take a look at what you can shoot when the weather isn’t quite as cooperative.

/Rifqi

