Alyzza

The last few portraits I’ve done have all been on black background, so I felt it was time for some change. I usually prefer a dark background but it’s no fun if everything looks the same.

After deciding on a portrait with a bright look I made sure my daughter wore a white dress to make it even brighter. In the same way I often try to use darker clothes when shooting on a dark background. This is just my personal taste though. I can easily see the complete opposite working just as well.

Alyzza

In accordance with tradition I was going to take a setup shot but forgot. I told myself that I should do it while I was shooting but the next time I thought about it was just as I was putting away the final pieces of gear. In other words you’ll have to use your imagination. There are three lights, all LP160s. The main light is an octabox from camera left. Rim light is a softbox from camera right, behind and above the subject. Third light is just standing on the floor behind the subject and firing up on the back ground, which is a piece of white foamcore.

Alyzza

If there’s one thing I would change about the setup it would be to lower the power of the background light. The little one is standing very close to the background (as usual due to rather limited space) and there’s some light spilling onto her from behind. Other than that it was a pretty straight forward affair.

Alyzza

I have to say that my daughter is getting rather crafty. When she was losing interest and I started asking for “just a few more”, she immediately asked if she could have candy later. She knows how these bribes works by now.

Since we were going for a bright look I wanted a bright subject as well. The smiling shots were achieved by telling her not to smile – works every time. I got the shot at the top after she had been squirming with her hands behind her back and I asked her to show me her hands. She wouldn’t repeat the pose when I asked her though. Luckily the shot I got was in good enough focus.

Alyzza

That’s all for today. I’m hoping for an opportunity to shoot something next week but it will depend a lot on the unreliable weather. See you next time.

/Rifqi

