Wife

This should be a fairly short post since most of it is the same as in the posts about my wife’s cousin a couple of weeks ago. These shots were taken on the same day as those other ones, in the studio that we got to borrow, and are actually the main reason we were there in the first place. You see, my wife wanted some fancy couple photos, kind of like the pre-wedding photos you would normally take. After spending a couple of hours (I’m glad I’m not a woman) getting her makeup and everything done, she was ready and gorgeous – I think she looks pretty in her pj’s and without make up as well, though she tends not to agree with me on that.

Wife and I

Who’s that devilishly handsome guy hugging my wife?! Oh wait, it’s me…

The lights used were the same as in all the other shots in this studio, namely two LP160s in an octabox as main light from camera right and a studio flash of unknown brand with a softbox from behind subject to camera left. You can see what it looks like below.

Setup with cute wife in the middle.

Setup with cute wife in the middle.

This shoot was also one of very few occasions where my tripod was put to use, for obvious reasons. I would say that the hardest part was to get the posing right, since you can’t see what things look like until you go and check the camera, after which you have to run back and try to get it right again, and then check to see that it was another fail.

She didn't actually enjoy it this much, she just said that it tickled.

She didn’t actually enjoy it this much, she said that it tickled.

I kept the light the same throughout the shoot and we just tried some different poses. We also found a chair that could be used, as seen below.

This is a bit cheesy.

This is a bit cheesy.

Come to think of it, I actually did change the light a bit here, since I removed the rim for the sitting shots. There really isn’t much else to be said about this that wasn’t already discussed in previous posts about my first time shooting in a studio. In the end I got plenty of good results with minimal amount of work; having a proper space to shoot in definitely makes things easier.

/Rifqi

