Indonesian schoolgirl

Actually this is more coming home from school, or rather coming home, changing to the best uniform and getting ready for photo shoot after school. Those of you with keen eyes will notice that this is the same location that was used for the photos in the previous post, though it was on a different day. The photos from these two posts were the only times I got to shoot with this lovely sun as one of my lights; I really wish I could have used it more in different locations, it makes such a huge difference compared to an overcast day.

Indonesian schoolgirl

As you can see, I worked with quite a lot of flare in these shots as well, just like the previous ones. The key difference is the location and direction of my main light, which is two LP160s in a octabox. In the last post the two lights (sun and artificial) worked against each other from different directions, here they’re coming from the same direction. It creates a different feeling, a bit as though the sun wraps around the subject to light her from the front as well. One way isn’t better than the other, just different. I think you can say that this is a softer look, which suits the subject and mood I was going for quite nicely.

Indonesian schoolgirl

By the way, the model is my wife’s youngest sister and I didn’t have to give her many directions in front of the camera, she gave me lots of nice poses and I just had to try not to mess it up. The shot just above here is the result of her two big sisters heckling her during the shoot, criticizing her poses and generally doing what I guess big sisters does. I always try to be attentive to those moments and if I’m lucky I’ll get a frame like this one, with a nice natural smile. If I’m unlucky and time it wrong, I’ll instead get some grotesquely distorted expression that makes the subject look like she drew the short stick from the gene pool. Win some, lose some.

Not much else to say here, pretty subject + nice light = happy photographer.

/Rifqi

