Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Alyzza

It’s been a while since I shot a more low key and moody portrait, so that’s exactly what I set out to do when I had some time alone with the little one. The setup couldn’t be simpler, just two LP160s in a octabox from camera left. The subject is standing at the edge of the light to keep it nice and soft and to make sure I’m not lighting more than I want. You’ll be amazed by this next part…wait for it…I remembered to take a setup shot. Just blew your mind there, didn’t I?

Setup

As you can see, I don’t have a whole lot of space to work with and the lens on the X100S is fairly wide, so that means that my subject is a lot closer to the background than I would have liked. Not much that can be done about that though, you make due with what you have. The little one was standing approximately in the middle of the frame of the setup shot, just at the edge of the light and just in front of the laptop with all the stickers on the floor. You can also see a strategically placed TV with My Little Pony playing on it – definitely helps to keep your subject’s attention in the right place. It’s also a surprisingly entertaining show, so give it a try if you have little ones you can use as an excuse.

Alyzza

I experimented a bit with the post processing for these shots. After the normal editing I do in Lightroom, I added a tilt-shiftish effect in Perfect Focus. I think it works pretty well and helps draw the viewer’s attention to her face. Or maybe it’s too artificial? Let me know what you think.

This will be a short post (as usual), since there’s only so much you can say about a single light setup. I do however think it’s a pretty good example of what you can do with very limited space.

Oh, should mention that I’m going on an eight week holiday next week, so I won’t be updating the blog very much. Fear not, I shall return, hopefully with some decent photos to share as well. I have a post or two prepared during my time off, just to keep some kind of pulse going around here. Apart from that, see you next year.

/Rifqi

5 Responses to “In the mood for something darker”

    • Rifqi

      Thanks, glad you like them. I haven’t had a proper holiday in over a year, bought the tickets for this trip in February or March or something, so we’ve been waiting for a while now. Can’t wait to leave the winter behind.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

