Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Grandma

Last week I shared some shots that weren’t really my style, today I’ll show you something that’s right up my alley.

Grandma came for a visit and you all know what that means: a new victim. Despite some heavy protesting I dragged her in front of the camera and tried to make her stop looking silly. Even though the final result makes her look like some rich aristocrat, that’s very far from the truth. She’s a silly old woman closing in on 80 fast, easy to laugh and often can’t stop talking (which she admits to herself). In other words she’s almost as difficult to shoot as my daughter, though on occasion she takes instructions slightly better.

That’s one of the reasons I kept things simple; I knew I wouldn’t get very many shots, so I wanted to make sure at least some were usable. I also think a single, soft light works well on her, much better than funky rim lights and whatnot. It’s the usual setup of two LP160s in a octabox from camera right. I also have my trigrip with black cover up to camera left, just out of frame, to reduce stray light bouncing around as much as possible. I had her turn into the light both because it looks good but also because it was the easiest way to get a decent pose out of her.

In post I cleaned up her skin a bit, though not very much since I like wrinkles, enhanced some details and worked on the colours to get a look that I liked. The light falloff was achieved by darkening the whole image and then painting in the correct exposure with a large brush in Lightroom, effectively creating my own vignette.

I have to say that I’m rather pleased with the final result and it earned a place in my portfolio. I need to find myself some more subjects like this.

On an unrelated note I would just like to let you know that I might be posting a bit less from now on. The reason for that is simple that I don’t want the blog to feel like a chore and I want to keep the quality of the posts reasonably high. I also don’t want to force myself to shoot something every week if I don’t have the inspiration for anything new worth sharing. There will probably be bursts of more frequent posts once in a while but if you don’t hear from me for a couple of weeks, fear not, I’m still around.

/Rifqi

5 Responses to “Portrait of a grandma”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

