Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Sitcom family

I’m a bit late with this week’s blog post but that’s just because I’m lazy I was busy saving the world, you’re welcome. These shots aren’t really my preferred style but the wife wanted something with the whole family, so here we are. I can’t say I’m that happy with them but at least I got to try a couple of things.

For the light I wanted to get quite a bit of contrast, while still keeping it soft, so I set up a LP160 in octabox to camera right and a trigrip with black cover to camera left. That black gobo is there to block off as much stray light as possible, in order to keep that side of the subject dark. The technique as such worked quite well but I think it would have looked better without a completely white background like this. The second thing I tried with the light was to use a LP160 with CTB gel in a softbox behind and above for hair light. I don’t know if it’s the colour from the gel or the angle of the light but it just doesn’t work. Might be a combination. Next time I’ll try to raise the light and angle it a bit more down, maybe that will do it…or I’ll have another failure I have to explain to you guys…

Sitcom family

If you haven’t already realized it, I can reveal that each subject was shot individually and later put together in post. I used Perfect Mask and Perfect layers to do that and it wasn’t all that difficult. The result is something that looks a bit like a bad poster for a cheesy sitcom. It’s kind of fund but, as mentioned earlier, not really my style.

Btw, what do you think about my new gear section? It’s not entirely complete yet but the important parts are there. In this post I’ve also linked to entries there, so it’s easier to follow what gear was used for the shoot. Is this useful, awesome, annoying or just meh?

Tune back in next week, then I’ll show you something that’s a lot closer to my style and what I want to shoot.

/Rifqi

4 Responses to “Just something silly”

  1. omaikane

    I’m new to blogging but I like your stuff. I think the gear section is a great idea and you’ve inspired me to do a simmilar sort of thing. It’s also really helpful to see what other photographers are using and how. Keep it up and thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • Rifqi

      Thanks, glad you like my stuff. Blogging is fun and, just like you, I got started to document my progress and give myself some extra motivation to keep shooting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

