YN560

This one is a bit tricky. On one hand this flash offers insane value for the money. On the other hand it has some quirks and poor quality control. This is a completely manual flash but the controls and features it offers are much better than, for example, the LP160. The only thing I don’t like about the controls is the odd habit this flash has of turning itself off after you turn it on. It’s like it needs a few tries to warm up first. This gets worse when the batteries aren’t fresh anymore and can get a bit frustrating. However, the biggest concern I have with this flash is the quality control. I’ve read a lot about it online and it finally happened to me as well; one of the two units I have just decided to stop working. I even tried to open it up and poke around a bit but it was a no go.

If someone could combine the best parts from this flash and the LP160, then we would have the ultimate manual flash. Seriously, everything this gets wrong, the LP160 nails, and everything the LP160 lacks, the YN560 has. One can dream.

Bottom line: it’s great value for the money but recommendation comes with some reservations. As a long term investment I would recommend the LP160 instead. I can however see myself getting a bunch of these if I suddenly have the need for a large quantity of flashes, just for the price.

