Samyang 14mm f2.8

Wide angle lens on DX cameras or super wide angle on FX cameras. How you use this lens will definitely depend on what camera you have. The pros of this lens are obvious: cheap and mostly good image quality, especially for the price. The cons are some fairly complex distortion and the fact that you’ll have to go all manual when you use it. How much of a problem that last part is will depend on how you’re used to shooting. For me it’s pretty much a non-issue, except for the fact that I can’t trust my eyes to get focus right.

The main reason I got this lens was that Nikon seems to have abandoned us DX users when it comes to wide angle primes. Sure, there are some good zooms to be had but they’re mostly expensive and I prefer primes anyway. This was the closest I could get to what I was looking for (a 16mm f2.8 would have been awesome) and I got it for a very good price. The only times this lens has disappointed has been my own fault for missing focus. Solid build, solid performance.

