Nikon D3000

This camera was my introduction to the world of “real cameras” and it has served me well. When I first got it it was Nikon’s latest entry level DSLR and I bought it to take better pictures of our soon to be born daughter. Little did I know that it was just the start of a rather expensive hobby.

It’s a decent enough camera, as long as you don’t need very good high iso performance. It also lacks a lot of features and external controls found on more expensive bodies. Since this is an old model I wouldn’t really recommend anyone buying it. It’s been replaced twice, first by the D3100 and then by the D3200. However, if you’re looking for good image quality in a small and relatively cheap package, the D3200 is not a bad choice at all. The thing to remember is that you won’t gain much in image quality unless you go up a lot in price, instead you’ll get more features and better build quality. It all depends on what you’re using it for and what you have.

