Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Mamiya C330f

When I started looking for a medium format film camera I didn’t really have anything specific in mind. I ended up with the Mamiya C330f because I found it pretty cheap. I still know very little about film cameras, so I can’t compare it to anything else out there. It seems like a very solid camera though, it weighs quite a bit and it’s well built. One thing that’s a bit interesting about it is that you can change lenses, which is rather unusual for a TLR (Twin Lens Reflex). I don’t know if I’ll be getting any other lenses for it but at least the possibility is there.

If your goal is to get into medium format photography and you don’t want to murder your bank account, then picking up one of these is definitely not a bad option. It’s a lot of fun to use and I like the fact that it’s completely mechanical. In other words it doesn’t use any batteries, so you’ll either have to guess the exposure or use a light meter. Personally I just use my digital camera as a light meter. The beauty of film is that, as long as there’s good glass in front of the film, it really doesn’t matter what camera you use, the results will be the same.

2 Responses to “Mamiya C330f”

  1. Roberto Aloi

    Very nice! I have wanted to purchase an older film mamiya for some time now. I spent an agonizing amount of time researching labs, film,vetc but still havent taken the plunge. My closest to vintage is using old m42 lenses with my dslr. Please share your photos with your new camera 🙂

    Reply
    • Rifqi

      I can definitely recommend giving it a try, it’s a lot of fun. I’ll have a post up with photos from my first two rolls either today or tomorrow, depends on how busy it is at work :p

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

