Hasselblad 500 CM

This is my second analog medium format camera and I got it because the first one was more of a test to see if I liked it and, as such, it was cheap and pretty worn. Once I realized that shooting film was something I wanted to continue doing, I started looking for a camera that could fill my needs and stay with me for a very long time. This is that camera.

The first thing I fell in love with was the look, the second thing was the sound. This is an all mechanical camera and my particular specimen is from 1990. Yet everything runs smooth and precise, like clockwork, with very satisfying clicks and clanks. After handling this camera it’s easy to see why it’s one of the most iconic cameras and regarded as a classic. With some maintenance every 5-10 years, I don’t see any reason why it wouldn’t be with me for the rest my photo-taking life.

Not only is it a great camera to use, you can also customize it with a plethora of accessories to turn it into exactly the camera that suits you best. It’s not the cheapest camera you can find but the beauty of digital is that cameras like these are actually affordable by normal people now, unlike when they were new. If you haven’t figured it out already, I can highly recommend this camera to anyone who wants to get into medium format film photography in a more serious way. Or if you just want to experience what a camera like this feels like.

