Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Alyzza framed

Well, technically I was the one doing the framing but who cares about technicalities anyway? I was home alone with the little one and I was trying to come up with something to shoot. There are definitely times when I want to shoot something but have absolutely no idea what that something is. One of the reasons for that is probably that I always shoot the same subjects in the same studio setting. After a while you’re bound to run out of ideas. I keep telling myself that I must find other subjects and get out and shoot more on location…this summer I really must make that happen. Anyways, this was the idea I came up with in the end.

Alyzza framed

I didn’t experiment much with the light and background this time around, just kept it simple. As you might have guessed, I forgot to take a setup shot, so you’ll have to use your imagination again. Background was a YN560 on a white bed sheet, clean and predictable. Main light was two LP160 in a octabox to camera left (starting to seem quite familiar, doesn’t it?). I also put a silver reflector on the floor in front of my subject for some passive fill – probably didn’t do much but it was there anyway.

Alyzza framed

The frame was hanging from a couple of strings attached to a boom just above and in front of the subject. After that it was just a question of getting some decent poses out of her. She was having a bit too much fun with the frame so I didn’t get a whole lot of usable shots – that’s not a surprise, the opposite would be. Below are a few unedited outtakes, just so you can see what I have to put up with.

As you can see, the frame was a source of much entertainment. It’s a good thing she’s so cute, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to put up with this kind of behaviour from my model. Besides reining in the little diva, the most difficult part was the editing (as it often is). I used Perfect Mask (a module in Perfect Photo Suite) to get rid of everything around the frame and the new cloning tool in Perfect Layers to get rid of the parts of her hands that covered the frame where they shouldn’t. I can’t say I did a very good job. It works from a distance but the edges are rather messy. Still, it was my first time doing this kind of editing so perhaps I shouldn’t be too hard on myself.

That’s all for today, now I’m going to bang my head against a wall until I come up with an idea for my next photo shoot.

/Rifqi

4 Responses to “I’ve been framed”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

