Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Wife

I’ve been in a bit of a black and white mood lately so there won’t be all that much colour in the next couple of posts. For the shot above I wasn’t really planning to go black and white but I started playing around with Perfect B&W to familiarize myself with it and quite liked the result. I didn’t like the composition of the shot to begin with so that was another reason I played around with it to see what I could get. I fear this will be a pretty short post because there really isn’t much more to say about this. I basically used one of the presets in Perfect B&W for the editing and the light was two LP160 in an octabox to camera left.

One thing worth mentioning is that I used my reflector with a black cover in this shot. The reason for that is that the space I shoot in is pretty tight, as loyal readers already know, and that means I get light bouncing off the wall to camera right. So I put the reflector, though not really a reflector with the black cover, between the wall and the subject in order to eliminate that unwanted fill light as much as possible.

Pianist

Second shot and exact same setup; octabox to camera left, black gobo to camera right. The editing is almost the same as well, though there’s some additional dodging and burning going on, mainly to keep those shiny white keys in check. The light was already angled so the keys just got the edge of it but they still picked up a bit too much. I shot this to show off my wife’s new piano, which I got for her birthday (she’s not getting anything else for a while now). Our little one likes to play too, though I have to say that it sounds better when my wife does it.

Btw, I don’t know if anyone has noticed, but I’ve been favouring a 5×4 crop ratio lately. No idea why, it just seems to fit a lot of my latest photos, or am I completely off on that?

I guess that’s all I had for today, these are just really basic shots, sometimes that’s all you need.

/Rifqi

5 Responses to “Black and white mood”

    • Rifqi

      Thanks, I’m liking my new octabox and I have a feeling it will be my most used modifier for quite some time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

