Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Wife

It’s been a while since I shot my wife so you’ll probably see a few new portraits of her in the near future. In this one I wanted to light half her face and keep the other half in shadow without making it harsh.

Main light was, predictably, two LP160 in my new octabox from camera left. I’m still trying to get a better feel for this modifier but it’s safe to say that I like it a lot. Just out of frame to camera right is a white reflector to fill in the shadows a bit and soften things up. I chose a white reflector instead of silver because I didn’t want the fill to be too pronounced – white makes for a creamier light and we all like cream, right? The background was the usual white bed sheet with a flash just behind the subject.

I think the light works well enough. It’s not spectacular and certainly not my best, but it’s decent. However, the colours didn’t sit well with me at all. The hijab my wife is wearing looks great on her but every time I shoot her in it the colours just looks bad to me. Below is the first edit I did.

Wife

I don’t know about you but for me this just doesn’t work. It’s too…orange. The weird thing is that, as I mentioned, it looks great on her in person, just not in photos. Maybe it’s my incompetence when it comes to colour (I do consider that one of my weakest areas in post processing).

So, what to do about it? Well, I simply pulled the orange hue towards pink in Lightroom until it looked good. The only problem with doing that was that it also made her skin pink. A trip to Perfect Layers solved that easy enough by just masking the changes to her clothes. Is this cheating? Maybe, but it’s a rather mild form of cheating in that case. Do I care? Not really, I’m more concerned with getting a result that I can be happy with.

Thoughts?

/Rifqi

4 Responses to “Colour me pink”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

