Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

Want a fake looking background? No problem.

Just something very quick today to keep you occupied and happy (for I know all my posts make you happy). A while back we had some good weather and a sleeping daughter, so I dragged my wife out on the balcony for a quick shot. I wanted just the artificial look that I achieved in the shot above because I haven’t really shot anything like that before. Let’s look at how it was done.

The first thing to do is to find the ambient exposure. With my fastest sync speed (1/200), iso 100 and f8 the sky was taken down sufficiently to turn a nice blue instead of a blown out white. The way the sun was position in relation to our balcony meant that my subject wasn’t getting much ambient light at all with those settings so next up was the key light, a LP160 in a softbox from camera right.

I was a bit surprised that I needed to push the flash on full power to get a decent exposure. These are settings I don’t hang out at very often so it’s good practice to get to know my gear better. The right side of my subject (camera left) was still fairly dark at this point so to finish things up I added a silver reflector to fill in the shadows a bit. I didn’t do much in post with the final shot, just some minor tweaks.

Quick shot, short post, see you next time.

/Rifqi

2 Responses to “Just a quickie”

  1. Mike Powell

    I really like your explanations of how you achieved your results (and why). It’s easy to follow and it’s nice that you go to pains to make sure readers know whether you are referring to camera directions when you refer to right and left. And, of course, your photo is the proof that your instructions work Thanks.

    Reply
    • Rifqi

      Glad to hear it’s reasonably easy to follow. One of the main reasons I write this blog is to help others who are just starting out so it’s good to know that maybe I’m doing something right.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

