Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

This will be something of a continuation of a post from last week where I described how I went about making the light softer by double diffusing it. Here we take that to the next level.

When I previously used this technique it was with the most portable gear I had, which of course brings with it certain limitations. This time around I did the same thing in my studio (i.e. living room) and, as a result, had access to some bigger gear. As is customary by now I didn’t take a setup shot but it’s fairly simple so I should be able to explain it to you. We have a LP160 in a Lastolite Ezybox (54 cm) and that’s shot through a Lastolite trigrip (75 cm). I don’t have a proper holder for the trigrip yet so I just clamped it to the front of the soft box and let it dangle there. Not the most elegant solution but it worked, though it made it tricky to move things around much.

Self portraitThis basically gave me three layers of the diffusion, two in the softbox and then the trigrip to finish things off. The result is a light that’s softer than anything I’ve managed to produce before and the best part is that it’s done with equipment I already have, thus saving me a bundle compared to buying some huge light modifier. Naturally this setup can’t compete with a big octabox but for what it is I’m very happy with it.

I’m actually quite happy with the shot itself as well, even though I’m using myself as the model. I like both versions but the black and white comes out as the winner (most of the time, on some days I prefer the other one), maybe because I tend to like shots of myself where you can’t see as much of me. The natural looking version is nice too though.

Just something very short today, since there really isn’t much to say about a shot this simple, especially when there’s no humorous story to go along with it either. I’ll be back next week, hopefully with some more decent shots.

/Rifqi

Self portrait Self portrait

4 Responses to “Building on previous techniques”

  1. Carissa

    Very nice. I’m torn between the color and black and white, but lean toward the b&w. I love doing shots like this. I’ve done a few, but need to work on it a lot more.

    Reply
    • Rifqi

      Thanks. I always find it difficult to choose when I have two edits I like. Often I leave the final choice to my wife instead :p

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

