Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

First of all, apologies for the late post. Secondly, today Rifqi’s photo turns 1 year, an impressive age for a blog as far as I’m concerned. A lot of things have happened since the birth of Rifqi’s photo and hopefully I can keep it up for another year.

To be honest, I never really expected to keep this blogging business up for as long as I have. However, for some reason I’ve actually managed to gain some readers, some of which are even returning for more ramblings every week, and that’s what keeps me going. From the start this blog was just something I wrote for myself but knowing that it’s now read by other people as well provides a lot of needed motivation. So I would like to give all those who have contributed with comments and discussion, or even just a click on the like button, a very big thank you. You make it worth it to keep writing.

I would like to ask my returning readers what you like about my blog and what you would like to see more of. Is there anything that my posts often lack that can be improved? Which have been your favourite posts from this past year and why? I’ll try to not only improve my photography but the content of the blog as well. The focus will remain the same though, to discuss what I learn from my photographic journey and, hopefully, provide lessons that can benefit my readers in their own photography. To that end I would love to see even more reader engagement; ask questions, discuss, show off your own shots where you try the techniques we cover here.

Now, without further ado, it’s time to have a look at the shot at the top. Actually scroll down and click the thumbnail at the bottom instead, so you can view it larger, then come back here again – seriously, come back, I’m watching…always watching. These shots build on the editing techniques I first tried in the previous post. After managing to produce a look like that, I had an idea for a very simply portrait of our daughter – single light and edited to give it an almost painterly feel. My hope was to capture a sober look on her face, something serious and quiet. That didn’t work…at all. The muppet was absolutely impossible to keep in front of the camera on this particular day. I quickly gave up on making her stand and instead put her in her chair. It worked better, or at least somewhat less poorly. In the end I didn’t get many usable frames but I did manage to get these three that just fit together very nicely. The light is slightly inconsistent since you can’t really control where a tornado will go, but I’m still happy with the result I got. The light is a YN560 in softbox, I’ll leave the position as an exercise for the reader. It’s placed very close to the subject which, with such a small subject, gives us very nice and soft light.

As I also mentioned in the previous post, I quite like this look but it’s not for every shot. In this case, however, I shot with the knowledge that I would be editing like this, which I think is something that’s important to keep in mind. If you know what you want the final look to be, you can tailor the light and other conditions during the shoot to help you achieve that look. You might also be able to skip over some details that won’t matter – perhaps you’ll remove the background in post and that will let you ignore some distractions there, since they won’t show up in the final result anyway. As always, give me a shout if you would like to have a closer look at the edit and I’ll send you the preset I created.

So, one year sure flew by quickly…here’s to another great one.

/Rifqi

Playfulness

2 Responses to “Happy birthday to me”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

