Those of you who know me will also know that today’s title is an outright lie, I’m about as musically challenged as they come. Still, if I did have an album, this shot would be a pretty sweet cover for it.

It will be a short post today, since there really isn’t all that much to say about this shot. It should be fairly obvious that I’m using a single light and that light is a LP160 with a small softbox. I’m also using my new fancy boom to get the light right above my head, creating lots of mood. You’ll probably be seeing more portraits with the light up high in this fashion, I’m definitely enjoying the freedom of placement the boom is giving me.

The softbox in this shot is positioned so that the light is feathered off the face and it’s very close, just out of frame at the top. By using the edge of the light you get softer light and more control over the falloff. Because of the angle there will still be some hard shadows, even though the light is relatively soft.

What else? Well, not much really, it’s a very simple shot and there really isn’t much to it. As usual with my self portraits the most difficult part was running back and forth to check the results – I really do prefer to stay behind the camera. What I would have liked for this shot is a face with a bit more character, some wrinkles for those shadows to play with. I wouldn’t mind some old people to shoot, they often have interesting faces.

That’s all for today, short and sweet.

/Rifqi

From the shadows

