…and I’m kind of short on kingdoms. What’s a boom you ask? Think of the boom mics they use for movies, same principle but you stick a light at the end instead. I’ve been bemoaning the lack of a boom for quite a while but it’s finally here.

This is a bit of a follow up from the previous post, since these shots were taken during the same session. I don’t think the shots are as good this time around but I took them mostly as an excuse to use the boom and try a different place for my light. As you can see in the shot to the left, the light is boomed just above our subject. I used a LP160 in softbox and she’s standing just in the corner of the softbox in order to get some falloff towards her back and the side facing the camera. Yes, I could probably have taken this shot without a boom but, by using one, I could have easily taken a few steps back to widen the frame without worrying about getting a lightstand in the scene. So the end result is that I can be a lot more flexible with the placement of my light.

Let’s talk gear, since that might be of interest to some of you. I ended up getting the Falcon eyes boom arm, which was a brand I was unfamiliar with. At first I was planning to get the Lumopro mini boom. The reason I ended up choosing the Falcon was because of the increased length and included counter weight. Am I happy with my decision? Well, I’m not that impressed and next time, if I feel I need a second boom, I’ll probably give the Lumopro a go instead. It’s not bad, it does its job and should be able to take more weight than the Lumopro (at least according to the specs). However, the quality does feel a bit so so and I’m not in love with the way it attaches to the light stand. It works though and I’m happy to finally being able to place my lights anywhere I want.

PortraitI also got a second item in the same order, a Lumopro studio clamp, which I’m very happy with. This little (though slightly bigger than I thought it would be) beauty clamps onto both round (e.g. pipes) and flat (e.g. tables) surfaces and is positively rock solid. If space is too tight to throw up a light stand, or if you didn’t bring one in the first place, this thing is perfect for throwing up a light on a bookshelf, chair or pretty much anywhere. I’ve put an umbrella swivel on mine so I could easily have a big soft light source attached to the bookshelf if I wanted to. It will definitely come with me whenever I travel somewhere with a couple of flashes in the bag.

Now for a recommendation to all my european readers (if I actually have any, don’t really know). I’ve previously used and recommended Mpex for my purchases of light-related gear – they’re well stocked, have good prices and excellent service. However, they’re US-based and that means you have to pay extra for shipping and to get your things through customs, at least here in Sweden. The cheap prices and the weak dollar has made it worth it but recently I stumbled on a Dutch site called Cameratools. The prices are a bit higher than those on Mpex but here’s the good part: shipping is considerably cheaper and, since it’s within the european union, no custom fees. For orders of the size I usually make, the end result seems to be a price around the same as Mpex, minus the custom fees (which is usually between 50-100$). So if you’re living in europe and are looking for a place to buy lightning gear that you can’t find in your own country, they’re definitely worth a visit.

That’s all for today, now I’m off to find new ways to use my boom.

/Rifqi

Portrait Portrait

