The other day my wife got the idea to put pictures on all the doors, with the theme of the room enacted by our daughter. Naturally I started thinking and today we’ll have a look at the bedroom theme; very quick and simple.

Step one, put baby to sleep, often easier said than done but if you time it right it’s doable without too much loss of sanity. Unfortunately it’s rather difficult to pose a sleeping baby, so instead of the sleeping princess look my wife wanted, she gave me more of a knocked out sailor style. Not to worry, nothing some nice light can’t fix (almost). This was an excellent opportunity to try out the grid for my sofbox. My wife helped me boom it above her, angled a bit towards the camera to keep the light away from the wall behind her. The grid keeps the light spill under control and gives a nice, smooth falloff. I’m using a bare LP160 in the softbox.

Sleeping babyOf course you could easily stop at one light but, knowing me, you can probably guess that I didn’t. I wanted a second light to direct the viewer’s attention to the focal point of the image: the sleeping terror beauty. Here we have a YN560 with some CTO gel and a very tight grid. You can see that it’s focused almost entirely on her face and then quickly falls off (though without the sharp edges a snoot would produce) and melt into the rest of the light. I think it’s pretty effective.

By no means is this my best photo but it works. That’s one down and two to go, bathroom and kitchen. I have a pretty clear idea of what I want to do with the kitchen picture but I still don’t know how to handle the bathroom, I’ll have to mull it over a bit but I’ll probably keep it very simple (the kitchen, less so).

A very short post today, since I don’t have anything witty or interesting to say.

/Rifqi

Sleeping baby Sleeping baby

