Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

The day has finally come (actually it hasn’t, it’s coming tomorrow). After a long wait since February when we bought the tickets, we’re now at long last on our way to Indonesia.

To get into the proper spirit of things, I decided to do one last photo shoot with one of my batik shirts – and let’s not forget the ever returning hat. Batik is traditional Indonesian patterns and it certainly looks nice – but then again, what wouldn’t look nice on me? What? Stop looking at me like that…

Anyways, back to the shoot. The style for this shot was highly inspired by Nick Turpin, whose work I remember seeing back before I even got my first proper off camera flash. I really like the way such a relatively simple style can give such high impact. I feel that I didn’t quite manage to capture that same impact in my photos and I think it has to do with the background. A more evenly lit background would probably have been better instead of the rather busy light we have here. The sun was popping in and out of the clouds but I didn’t have time to wait for it to go away and try again. Don’t get me wrong, I like the background light, it’s just that I think the rest of the lighting would have worked better without it. Things were made trickier by the fact that I couldn’t stand both in front of the camera and behind it at the same time (stupid physics). I set everything up and gave my wife some quick instructions on how to handle the camera. She hasn’t really been interested in learning how to use the camera but maybe there’s still hope.

A bit about the setup. Very simple, two snooted LP160, one from camera right and one from left. I think the left one could have been aimed a bit lower to let some light fall on the shoulder. The light you see on my right arm is from the pesky sun that just couldn’t resist joining in on the action. Overall I would say the effect is ok but not quite what I had hoped for.

Self portraitSo, Indonesia, if we can survive an excruciatingly long flight while taking care of our baby girl, then we’ll be there in approximately 48 hours from the publishing of this post. Of course I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to photograph while we’re there, so hopefully I’ll have some good stuff to show off when we get back. For those interested: I’ll be bringing my camera, both my lenses and all three flashes. For modifiers I’m bringing my two grids and softbox. What I won’t bring is the stands and umbrellas, it’s just too bulky. I will however bring my gorillapod so I have something to hold either the camera or a flash if needed. I’m really looking forward to this and hope that the results will turn out at least half as good as I’m hoping (I’ll probably still find something I’m not happy with though).

Obviously I won’t have much time for blogging while I’m there so it will be a bit quiet around here for a while. However, I’ve prepared a couple of posts to at least keep it alive and, more importantly, I’ve found myself a couple of guest posters who have promised some awesome contributions – no pressure, I only demand perfection. Those will be posted in the middle and second half of September so be sure to stick around, I know I’m looking forward to seeing what they come up with. I’ll still be able to pop in from time to time to check up on things so if you leave a comment you can be sure I’ll answer, it might just take a bit longer than usual.

Now, where did I put that hat…

/Rifqi

Self portrait Self portrait

6 Responses to “Indonesia, here we come”

  1. [Gm]

    Have a great and safe trip!
    It’s mudik* season, so I’m assuming the airport(s) are going to be packed… but I still hope you can still enjoy your visit :-).

    I’m looking forward to see some photos — and also sauced crabs :D.

    PS: deadline for the article is still end of September, right? I’ll try to finish it sooner.

    *Check your wife for the meaning. I couldn’t find the right English term for this. Sorry 😀

    Reply
    • Rifqi

      Thanks, I think the greatness of the trip mostly depends on the little one :p I’ll be happy just as long as we get there in the end. I’ll do my best with the photos, definitely have some things planned for that and I hope it will turn out ok.

      Any time from the middle to end of September is fine, so take your time.

      We now leave in 20.5 hours :p

      Reply
    • Rifqi

      Thanks, we certainly intend to. Finishing up the packing here, though the little one is more interested in taking everything out of the bags instead :p

      Reply
    • Rifqi

      Thanks, the trip went well so we’re now just relaxing. Managed to take some photos, snapshots and others, more to come.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

