Rifqi's photo

My photographic journey

The title today sounds like something out of a tabloid but it’s actually about a couple of photo shoots I did with my grandmother and dad this weekend.

Most of my family lives on the West coast of Sweden and it’s been a while since they last saw Alyzza (our daughter for those of you who aren’t keeping up). So when the time came to pay them a visit, obviously I had to bring my camera gear, because, well…it’s obvious, isn’t it? I brought all my flashes, an umbrella, softbox, two grids and one light stand. It might sound like a lot but it’s actually a rather compact traveling kit. I only left my large stand and some bits and pieces behind.

First stop was at my grandmother’s place and I had some vague idea of what I wanted to do. Once we got there I did some location scouting. Initially I had plans for the living room since it’s quite open with lots of big windows. My plan was to use the windows with drapes and over expose the background and then throw in some extra rim light and a main light in umbrella. However, the angle of the sun wasn’t cooperating so instead I settled for the bedroom after finding a nice chair that helped set the mood for the shot.

I still wanted to use a rim light since it’s a technique I really like but at the same time I didn’t want the photo to appear too lit. There was light coming in from a window to the right in the frame and I wanted to use that as a fill light for the whole room. As luck would have it, there was a conveniently placed floor lamp in the room and, even better, it had dimmer switches, awesome. I turned on the lamp on pretty much the lowest setting so it didn’t really contribute that much light to the scene. I then placed a gridded LP160 next to the lamp and just out of frame to the left. To balance the flash with the light from the lamp I also put 1/2 cto gel on it. Now, what all this accomplishes is to give my rim light a natural reason to be there without adding crappy light to the rest of the scene (thanks to the awesome dimmer switches). The light you see on my grandmother’s face on the right side (her right) is all flash but I don’t think it looks out of place because of the lamp, it simply gives the viewer’s eyes a source for the light. Could I have achieved the rim light by just using the lamp? No, not really, I would have had light spilling all over the place in the scene. Also remember that the flash is gridded, giving me very precise control over what it hits.

For the main light I solicited my wife as my assistant and had her hold my second LP160 in a softbox to camera right. The reason for using a softbox instead of an umbrella was again to get more control over the light. Remember, I was using the ambient to control the overall brightness of the scene (which I wanted to be slightly under exposed) and an umbrella would have added a lot of spill light. With the softbox I could feather the light off the subject to avoid spill light on the background while still getting nice and soft light.

Portrait failMy first idea for this shot was to add my grandmother’s cat after everything was set up and to my liking. As you can see we did try that but the cat was less than cooperative. It’s a shame since it would have added that final, regal touch to the image – though it would have been ever better with a long haired, white cat. You can’t get everything you want.

Is the result perfect? Of course not, we already mentioned the cat but there are other things that could be improved. The main thing I would have liked to do would have been to vary the ratios a bit. In particular I think the main light could have been a bit stronger (just moving it in a bit closer should suffice) or the ambient a bit darker to give a bit more separation between the subject and background. Varying the ambient is simply a matter of changing the shutter speed to take in more or less light. The flash only cares about aperture so that won’t be affected. Another thing I would have liked to experiment with was to add some on axis fill. By doing that I could have given the shadows some more detail and also make them less prominent.

Speaking of shadows: most of the shadows in the scene makes sense if you consider the main light (both ambient and flash) that’s coming from the right side of the frame. However, when I placed the flash for the rim light I placed it lower than the lamp, something I didn’t really think much about at the time, and as a result you can see some slightly odd shadows on the subject’s neck from the ruffled collar. It’s not a big deal but it’s definitely something that could have been improved upon.

Post processing was as usual nothing major, just some tweaking of contrast and curves and some desaturation to give it a tone that I like and brings out the mood I’m after. I have to say that I’m quite pleased with the final results, especially since this is my first environmental portrait like this, as opposed to the usual headshots I take.

This has turned out to be a rather lengthy post so instead of discussing the second photo shoot in the same post I think we’ll divide it into two parts. Hope you’ve enjoyed it so far and hopefully I can post the second part (which should be shorter) tomorrow.

/Rifqi

Update: You can now continue reading part two.

Portrait Portrait fail

10 Responses to “An old queen and a racing legend (part one)”

  1. [Gm]

    I am now seriously considering to learn flash photography; it’s partly your fault! Hahaha…

    Good shots, by the way :-).
    When the time comes, I will ask a lot of question at you… haha! :D…

    Reply
    • Rifqi

      Hehe, you’re welcome to ask as many questions as you want. Just beware, it’s very addictive, you’ll be thinking of light in a whole new way :p

      Reply
      • [Gm]

        Haha… great. Addiction is fine, as long as it doesn’t involve a lot of money.

        Anyway, here is my first question :D…
        I remember you were suggesting strobist kits from MPEX, but the whole set is too expensive for me. So, I think I’ll start with just one flash and planning to make DIY portable softbox.

        For Flash, I’m now saving for Nissin Di622 Mark II. Portable oftbox, I’m still looking for ideas. Any suggestion?

      • Rifqi

        For portable softbox I can definitely recommend the Lumiquest softbox III, I’m very happy with it. The only thing to remember is that it might be good to get the extra strap for attaching it. If you want to build your own softbox I can recommend this source for ideas: http://www.diyphotography.net/.

        As far as the Nissin flash goes I can’t really comment but I’ll present another option to you: http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?_nkw=yn560&_sacat=0&_odkw=%28yn560%2Cyn-560%29&_osacat=0&_trksid=p3286.c0.m270.l1313. This flash has some mixed reviews but a lot of the issues seems to have been with the first edition of it so they should be more reliable now. You’ll save over $100. I haven’t tried them myself but this is what I’m planning to get when I want to add some more flashes. They’re so cheap you can get two. Of course, they main reason they’re cheaper is that they’re all manual, they don’t support Nikon’s TTL system like the Nissin does. For me that’s not an issue since I prefer to shoot manual anyway but it’s definitely something to consider depending on what you’re going to use it for.

        There, now I’ve probably made it even more confusing and difficult for you :p

      • [Gm]

        Haha! You’re not helping, Rifqi… but anyway, for some reasons, I think I’m going to stick with Nissin Di622 Mark II for the first flash. If I need more flash, then I might go for YN-560 (or perhaps YN-460 II?)

        I’ll look more detail on the softbox. Thanks for the information :D…

      • Rifqi

        It might be a good idea to start out with a TTL-capable flash, then you have something you can just slap on the camera and bounce off the ceiling for family gatherings and the like. I look forward to seeing your results when you start playing with it.

  2. forkboy1965

    I can’t say enough good things about starting off with a simple on-camera flash, bounced off available walls and spaces.

    While I still haven’t done much of anything with the various small and inexpensive lighting equipment I’ve picked up over the past 12-months, I still regularly make use of bouncing my on-camera flash to generally great effect. It’s really amazing how much use you can get out of the bounced-flash idea.

    Rifqi, I was wondering what this image might have looked like with a harder light with sharp fall-off. Granted, you can’t recreate it now, but your discussion got me to thinking about it. That’s a good thing too!

    Reply
    • Rifqi

      I like hard light as well but it depends what kind of look and feel you want for the shot. It would be easy to achieve here if I had used a snoot instead of softbox but then it would also be very clear that the photo was lit. Another thing to consider is that hard light might not be the most flattering on an old person with wrinkled skin. So I think my dad would be a better subject for playing with hard light and I have an idea I want to try on him next time I have the opportunity.

      Reply
  3. Keeping it simple | Rifqi's photo

    […] coming over to visit her great-granddaughter and unsuspectingly walked right into my trap. Unlike last time, when I did a more environmental portrait of her, I wanted something simple and more intimate this […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

